## Town of Garfield Regular Meeting Tuesday, December 10, 2019 – 6:30 p.m. Garfield Town Hall

Chairman Steve Dickinsen called the Public Hearing of the Town Board of the Town of Garfield to order on Tuesday, December 10, 2019, at 6:35 p.m. in the town hall on Hillcrest Road. Present were Chairman Dickinsen, First Supervisor Lamoine Hanson, Second Supervisor Glenn Fremstad, Treasurer Clark Walker, and Clerk Ardy Robertson. Meeting notice verified. Motion to approve agenda made by Fremstad, seconded by Hanson, and carried. Also in attendance were Alice Glavin, Karen Thayer, Dave Call, Lisa Walker, and Dianne Richardson.

Clerk presented the minutes of the Public Hearing and Special Meeting of the Electorate (Budget Hearing) held on Tuesday, November 12. Motion by Fremstad, seconded by Hanson, and carried to approve the minutes as presented.

Clerk read the minutes of the regular meeting of November 12, 2019. Motion made by Hanson, seconded by Fremstad, and carried to approve minutes as amended.

Treasurer's report of income and expenses for November, 2019 was presented by Walker. Motion to approve treasurer's report made by Hanson, seconded by Fremstad. Motion carried.

Reconciliation Report presented by Clerk and Treasurer. Motion to accept made by Fremstad, seconded by Hanson, and carried.

Clerk presented year to date financial report and monthly bills for payment. Motion by Hanson, seconded by Fremstad and carried to pay the bills.

Discussion on Resolution 121019-1 Establishing the Minimum Number of Poll Workers. Motion to approve made by Hanson, seconded by Fremstad, and carried. Clerk will post.

Discussion on Resolution 121019-2 2020 Board and Employee Policy Handbook. Resolution to include wage adjustments for hourly employees. Motion to amend the resolution to include the line "\$75 per diem for any out of town board meeting over 4 hours" which has been in the present policy, and passage of the resolution made by Hanson, seconded by Fremstad and carried.

Discussion of new computer provided to the town by the election commission grant. Motion to cancel our existing Microsoft software subscription because we have a yearly Microsoft subscription in effect through our IT service – KerberRose. Motion made by Hanson, seconded by Fremstad, and carried.

Dickinsen wrote a newsletter to the town residents which will go into the tax bills. Motion to approve said newsletter made by Fremstad, seconded by Hanson, and carried.

Clerk and Treasurer bond to be applied for by clerk. Motion to approve made by Fremstad, seconded by Hanson, and carried. Clerk to return the application to insurance company.

Town Christmas party will be coming up soon. It would be Whispering Pines' turn in the rotation. Clerk to check with them as to dates etc.

Recycling center – Mitch has been taking care of the recycling center on Mondays, and calling in etc. Board is sending letter to recycling employees that the door to the office is to be used to enter one time only, and then it needs to be locked for safety reasons of it being a tripping hazard. Anyone needing to enter must use the rear door between the shop and the office.

Election official appointments discussed. Election list includes Alice Glavin, Norma Walker-Card, Carol Babiak, Katie Nyborg, Dianne Richardson, Jackie Rindahl, Linda Fremstad, and Ardy Robertson. Motion to approve election list made by Fremstad, seconded by Hanson, and carried.

Town has been cutting trees from the storm earlier this month. Kevin and Mitch cut over 50 trees in one morning. Mitch will be doing the calling for salt sand also, since he knows when it is needed.

Moe Road Bridge will be designed in 2020 and constructed in 2022. Jackson County will share in the cost, along with the BIA. Dickinsen has applied for a large percentage grant for the restoration of the ends of the road adjoining the bridge.

Discussion on the garage door opener in the recycling center, as well as the power to the fuel tank. Also discussed grader and tractor tires. We had C&D do a lube job, power steering flush, fuel filter change, oil change, etc. on the one-ton truck so it's ready for winter.

Dianne Richardson has been appointed to the Jackson County Crimestoppers. She gave a brief presentation on their initial activities.

Motion to adjourn made by Fremstad, seconded by Hanson, and carried. Meeting adjourned. Next meeting will be held Tuesday, January 14th, at 6:30 p.m. in the town hall.

Ardy Robertson, Clerk